## **CYNULLIAD CENEDLAETHOL CYMRU: NATIONAL ASSEMBLY FOR WALES**

## GRWP GROES BLEIDIOL AR DRAFNIDIAETH: CROSS PARTY GROUP ON TRANSPORT

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the Group, held at Ty Hywel, on 16 May 2018.

## Present:

AMs: Russell George, Dai Lloyd, David Rees, Vikki Howells. Support Staff: Alex Williams (Office of Russell George)

Others: John Pockett

Apologies: David Rowlands AM, Llyr Gruffydd AM, Simon Thomas AM, Lee Waters AM

## Election of officers:

Russell George was nominated to chair the Group. Proposed: Dai Lloyd, seconded: David Rees. There were no other nominations.

John Pockett was nominated to provide the secretariat. Proposed: Dai Lloyd, seconded: David Rees. There were no other nominations.

The objectives of the Group were discussed and agreed. 'The purpose of the Group is to focus on issues on transport that affect the people of Wales'.

A round table discussion on a future programme decided:

- meetings will be held during the day, rather than evening;
- one meeting to be held a term;
- first meeting before the National Assembly rises for the summer;
- Transport for Wales be invited to present/address the first meeting.

Possible topics for the Group included Transport for Wales, the successful bidder for the new All-Wales Rail Franchise, the Metros – south east and north east wales – electrification of the Valleys Network and the north Wales mainline, rural transport issues.

A list of potential invitees will be drafted, using the list used by the EIS Committee, and invitations to meetings sent as appropriate. The list must include TfW, transport operators, user groups and local authorities/WLGA/ATCO.

The chair and secretary will consult on the list, and canvass and consult with members of the Group for names to be included.

The meeting concluded at 1245.